Brexit has arrived: Where are we now? What happens next?

02.02.2020 - Article

On 29 January 2020, the European Parliament ratified an exit agreement which will enter into force on 1 February 2020 and which provides for a transitional period until 31 December 2020 during which Union law will in principle continue to apply to the United Kingdom and Northern Ireland.

Consequently, during the transitional period, the Free Movement of Persons Act/EU will continue to apply to British citizens and their (third-country) family members.

Brexit came into effect on 1 February: The UK is no longer a member of the European Union. What will remain the same, what will change? Here is an overview of the most important Information.

Top of page