Application Schengen Visa

06.02.2020 - Article

A Schengen Visa has to be applied for if you intend to travel to Germany as a visitor, for business or tourism purposes for up to 90 days within a period of 180 days. You also have to apply for a Schengen visa in case you need to obtain an Airport Transit Visa.

Schengen Visa
Schengen Visa© colourbox


Please read this important update:

Coronavirus and entry restrictions travellers to Germany need to know

Schengen Visa applications are only possible for holders of a New Zealand permanent residency.

Holders of Schengen Visa issued by the German Embassy in Wellington that either could not use their visa due to the entry restrictions in connection with COVID-19 or that had to withdraw their applications for this reason, can have their visa reissued provided the purpose of stay has not changed.

From 02.07.2020 until 01.08.2020 you can contact the Embassy in order to have your visa reissued.

Please submit the following documents:

  • Your original passport
  • Short letter explaining why you were not able to use the visa
  • New travel insurance and flight schedule
  • New hotel bookings OR new invitation letter
  • Self-addressed courier envelope

 Your New Zealand re-entry visa must also be valid longer than your new travel dates to Germany.


The Schengen visa allows you to stay in the following countries for up to 90 days within a period of 180 days:

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

However, you always have to apply for a Schengen Visa at the embassy of the member state that is your main destination in terms of length or purpose of stay. If no main destination can be determined, the visa has to be applied for at the embassy of the member state whose external border the applicant crosses first.

All applications for short-term visas (Schengen Visas)  can only be lodged with the German Embassy in Wellington. Honorary Consuls do not handle any visa applications.

The following countries are not part of the Schengen area:

Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom.

Schengen Visa needed?

An overview of visa requirements/exemptions for entry into the Federal Republic of Germany can be found here

In order to apply for a visa

  • Your passport must have at least two empty opposite pages.
  • Your passport must have been issued within the last ten years and  its validity must exceed the duration of stay in Germany by at least three months
  • Furthermore, you must hold a valid visa for New Zealand  Its validity must exceed the duration of stay in Germany by at least three months. Holders of visitor visas must apply for their Schengen Visa in their home country.
  • Visa applicants must have their fingerprints taken. Children unter the age of 12 are exempt from the requirement to give fingerprints. Fingerprint scans stored in the Visa Information System (VIS) can be reused for future visa applications within the following five years.
  •  According to the Schengen regulations, you may apply up to 6 months before entry into Germany for your visa. However, due to generally short waiting times for an appointment as well as usual processing time of 7  - 10 days for complete applications, we recommend you apply within 3 months of intended travel to Germany.

Postal applications

Postal applications are only for applicants who have already had a Schengen Visa within the last 5 years, for which fingerprints were successfully taken. In this case payment can only made by cheque (payable to “the German Embassy Wellington”) or in cash.

Top of page